A Cousin’s Promise by Wanda Brunstetter

Indiana Cousins Trilogy (#1)

A Cousins PromiseFrom GoodReads: Willkumm to the lush and lavish Amish country where Wanda Brunstetter’s new romantic series, Indiana Cousins, begins with A Cousin’s Promise. Loraine Miller finds herself torn between the love of two good men—Wayne Lambright who, crippled after a tragic accident, feels himself unworthy of her love; and Jake Beechy who, after having abandoned her to explore the English world, returns to renew their courtship. To which man will she pledge her love and loyalty—for better or worse, until death they do part?


A Cousin’s Promise would be a better story if I hadn’t been expecting a story about the Amish community. The Amish I know have a love and contentment that seems to be lacking here. These characters are proud, petty, bitter, resentful, disrespectful, and show barely a touch of any Godly characteristics.

Wanda Brunstetter is a great writer; after reading several of her Amish novels, I have learned to appreciate her writing style. However, I believe after being in close contact with Amish friends, she views them the same as her English friends. Therefore, her novels don’t show a big difference (although I was obviously looking for one).

If you enjoy reading an Amish novel whose characteristics are close to ours, you will enjoy reading Wanda’s novels. Feel free to check it out on GoodReads HERE.

However, if you prefer the Amish novels to show a distinct difference in characteristics, you might want to choose The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club (#1) or The Tattered Quilt (#2). I really enjoyed reading these because Wanda excelled at writing about all the different English characters in the club, while showing the characteristics we’ve come to expect in the Amish characters. You can check these out on GoodReads too.

Be sure to check out Wanda’s website HERE.

God bless you!


Tagged: , , , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: