Mrs. Miracle by Debbie Macomber

612391

Day #5 – Today I am reviewing Mrs. Miracle by Debbie Macomber.

Goodreads says:

Seth Webster’s heart never healed after he lost his adored wife. Now, with Christmas approaching, wild twin boys to raise alone, a home in chaos, and the latest in a long line of exasperated housekeepers quitting in disgust, Seth needs more than help to keep his family togethe…he needs a miracle.

And then a miracle arrives on his doorstep. Her name is Mrs. Merkle, but the kids call her “Mrs. Miracle”—and from the moment the warm, knowing, and very patient nanny appears, everything is different. Her sassy spirit is infectious, and it gives Seth the courage to approach Reba, a beautiful travel agent who’s been hurt and betrayed, and is afraid to ever love again. Through the magic of faith—and with a little help from a children’s Christmas pageant and a lot of encouragement from Mrs. Miracle — Seth and Reba might just be able to find a Christmas miracle of their very own: true love.

MY THOUGHTS:

According to Goodreads, this is the Debbie’s 4th Angelic Intervention… she began with (#1) A Season of Angels, (#2) The Trouble With Angels, and (#3) Touched By Angels, then she wroute Mrs. Miracle. The first three novels are part of the Angels Everywhere series, and there are three more novel, written after Mrs. Miracle – (#4) Shirley, Goodness and Mercy, (#5) Those Christmas Angels and (#6) Where Angels Go… after which she wrote Call Me Mrs. Miracle.

Whew… that is one busy woman. But what a talent!

This book was used to create a family-type movie and it was very good. I bought a copy to play for my family around Christmas time. But the book has more depth (books usually do). For example, Sharon and Jerry (the in-laws) begin to have marital problems that get worked out in the book. Their biggest problem is that after forty years of marriage they have forgotten to appreciate each other.

Seth and Reba both work to overcome their past problems by facing their fears… with a little faith. Of course, Mrs. Miracle helps with this.

To be truthful, I almost didn’t read Mrs. Miracle… the very first line of the first paragraph (of the first chapter – you get the message) has a swear word. Now, I’m most definitely not perfect, but I have (thankfully) never swore at my children, or granchildren, or even my spouse (although I felt like it a few times with him). I don’t want anyone to swear at me, so I pay the same respect back. However, my daughter reminded me that many people swear – even at small children. So I gave it a try. Then on page three… more swearing (aka cussing, cursing, foul language – there’s lots of ways to identify it, even “pardon my french”). Still wanting to quit, I gave it one more try… and I got all the way to page 74 before I stumbled across another one, so I kept reading.

Honestly, I am saddened that Ms. Macomber thinks everyone swears… or doesn’t mind swearing. The cover of my book says “National Bestselling Author of touched by Angels and A Season of Angels”… now that gives me the idea that this is a Christian book, but swear words do not belong in a Christian book.

So… this is my post, and I respect that there are many who do not agree with my convictions, but regardless, I think you will enjoy the story. Mrs. Miracle is indeed truly a “miracle”.

God bless you.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

