The Amish Midwife

The Amish Midwife is the first book of the series: The Women of Lancaster County by Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould.

The Amish Midwife

Here is a brief synopsis from GoodReads:

“A dusty carved box containing two locks of hair and a century-old letter regarding property in Switzerland, and a burning desire to learn about her biological family lead nurse-midwife Lexie Jaeger from her home in Oregon to the heart of Pennsylvania Amish country. There she meets Marta Bayer, a mysterious lay-midwife who desperately needs help after an Amish client and her baby die.

Lexie steps in to assume Marta’s patient load even as she continues the search for her birth family, and from her patients she learns the true meaning of the Pennsylvania Dutch word “demut, “which means “to let be” as she changes from a woman who wants to control everything to a woman who depends on God.

A compelling story about a search for identity and the ability to trust that God securely holds our whole life–past, present, and future.”


This book begins a bit differently for an Amish novel… it begins with a Mennonite family.

And when Lexie, the main character, goes to Pennsylvania to search for answers concerning her family, she is met with much more than resistance; it is more like hitting against a brick wall.

The authors do an excellent job showing the determination of the characters as they interact. As the facts come out, as they tend to do in real life, the characters begin to open up and show love and acceptance.

I enjoyed this novel from beginning to end and highly recommend it!

Click HERE for more information on this book at GoodReads.

Mindy Starns Clark’s website is HERE.

Leslie Gould’s website is HERE.

You should read the other books in this series too. The image below is linked to GoodReads. Click it for more information on this series.

The Women of Lancaster County Series


Tagged: , , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: