Falling to Pieces by Vannetta Chapman (Shipshewana Amish Mystery #1)


Falling to Pieces is the first book in the Shipshewana Amish Mystery series by Vannetta Chapman.

A few words from Zondervan about Falling to Pieces:

In this first book of a three-book series, author Vannetta Chapman brings a fresh twist to the popular Amish fiction genre. She blends the familiar components consumers love in Amish books—faith, community, simplicity, family—with an innovative who-done-it plot that keeps readers guessing right up to the last stitch in the quilt. When two women—one Amish, one English—each with different motives, join forces to organize a successful on-line quilt auction, neither expects nor wants a friendship. As different as night and day, Deborah and Callie are uneasy partners who simply want to make the best of a temporary situation. But a murder, a surprising prime suspect, a stubborn detective, and the town’s reaction throw the two women together, and they form an unlikely alliance to solve a mystery and catch a killer. Set in the well-known Amish community of Shipshewana, Falling to Pieces will attract both devoted fans of the rapidly-growing Amish fiction genre, as well as those who are captivated by the Amish way of life.


When I began reading this story, I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy it as much as I have enjoyed reading Vannetta’s other series. One of my very favorite books is Vanetta’s first novel about the Amish, A Simple Amish Christmas.

No, it wasn’t really anything like A Simple Amish Christmas, but the interaction between Callie Harper and the Amish women she befriends — Deborah, Esther and Melinda, is entertaining and wholesome.

If I were Callie, I would never have the nerve to do some of the things she does… yet it is very believable. Getting involved in the lives of her friends is just what she needs.

Most series are written so that you can pick up any of the books and catch up easily with what’s happened before. You can probably do this with the Shipshewana Amish Mystery series, but you will miss so much if you do. Get all three books in the series and begin at book one – Falling to Pieces. You’ll be glad you did.

HERE for the book page at Zondervan.

HERE for GoodReads

HERE for Vannetta Chapman’s Website.


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: