70,000 words… easy… right? Is it?

Great post… from a GREAT writer!

Rachel L. Miller

Anyone who follows my other blog might remember that I began “A Mother for Leah” back in November for NaNoWriMo. I made it through the month and I got to my 50,000 words required for the contest.

However, when I stripped it down to the essentials and took out all the nonsense that I had written when I was half asleep (LOL), it boiled down to just over 40,000. I began working on it again in earnest, in February. I wasn’t just editing, I was attempting to add more words and plot points.

This has been a much more difficult prospect than I expected and I do believe that it has taught me NaNoWriMo is not for me. Yes I can work under that insane amount of pressure and get to a word count but the words in that count are not always good words.

I applaud the tremendous number of people who…

View original post 423 more words

