Huckleberry Hill by Jennifer Beckstrand (Matchmakers of Huckleberry Hill #1)

Huckleberry Hill by Jennifer Beckstrand

Huckleberry Hill is the first book in the new series, the Matchmakers of Huckleberry Hill, by the very witty, talented, and captivating author (can you tell she’s one of my favorite authors yet?), Jennifer Beckstrand.

Here is what Zebra Inspirational Romance (Kensington Books) has to say about Huckleberry Hill:

With their thirteen children grown, Anna and Felty Helmuth are ready for their next adventure. That means trying their hands at matchmaking–because what could be more fun than igniting love when it’s right–and undoing mismatches when they’re wrong. Now Huckleberry Hill just might turn out to be the most romantic spot in Wisconsin. . .

Lia Shetler is resigned to being a spinster. She’s too tall and sturdy to ever be marriageable–so says her overbearing dat. Instead, she’s helping her pretty, spoiled sister Rachel secure the perfect husband–the Helmuths’ grandson, Moses Zimmerman. But the more Lia sees of Moses’ gently teasing ways and quiet understanding, the more she wishes he could be hers alone. . .

Moses knew his grandparents couldn’t resist trying to find him a wife. But he never expected it would be the graceful, sensible Lia–a woman who is tall enough to look him in the eye, and honest enough to make him question a promise holding him to his past.

Now both will need the kind of miracles only faith and courage can bring to finally reach for a lifetime of happiness. . .

MY THOUGHTS:

The last sentence in the first paragraph had me smiling…

“Moses is miserable, absolutely miserable. We must find him a wife.”

The last sentence of the second paragraph had me telling my daughter that she needed to read this book…

“You mean Moses, our grandson? He doesn’t seem miserable to me.”

After the third paragraph, she lost me…

“He won’t know how miserable he is until he meets the right girl.”

and for the most part, I stopped responding to everyone and everything until I finished the book!

If I could read a book this entertaining every week… well, it’s probably a good thing I can’t, because I actually had to take a vacation day, just so I could finish the book!

Yeah, I could have put it aside and picked it up later to finish, but the point I’m trying to make is,
it was worth it!

Now for a little back story… I bought this book because just reading the back cover, I was convinced that I would enjoy reading it. At the time, my daughter didn’t think she would care for a story where the grandparents act as matchmakers, but it didn’t take long for her to see how much I was enjoying the story, especially since I had told her while I was reading page one that she needed to read it because she would absolutely love it!

Jennifer has a wonderful way with words; she pulls the reader into the story right from the first page because she makes the characters seem so real that you can easily picture them. I admit, I got so involved in the story, I laughed til I cried at the silliness of Moses and Lia, both trying to convince the other that they didn’t want to marry one another.

I actually read the book in February (and loved it) but when I was asked to write this review, I picked it up again… and once again, I didn’t want to put it down. Even though I knew the story and what happened, and the truly wonderful ending… it’s really that good.

But hey, don’t take my word for it. Go buy a copy, or get it at your local public library, and read it.

 

Click HERE for Jennifer’s author page on Kensington Books

Click HERE for the book page on GoodReads

And click HERE for Jennifer’s website!

 

Although I was not provided this book free through Jennifer’s street team in exchange for an HONEST review, she has now added me to her team… and asked if I would review her books, so I wanted to be sure to post a review for each book in this series…

God bless you!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Huckleberry Hill by Jennifer Beckstrand (Matchmakers of Huckleberry Hill #1)

  1. jenniferbeckstrand June 17, 2014 at 10:41 am

    Donna, thank you so much for your review. I am humbled and thrilled! I hope readers will find Huckleberry Hill both laugh-out-loud funny and heart-warmingly romantic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • DJ Mynatt June 17, 2014 at 10:52 am

      Yes, that’s exactly how readers should find it! Thanks for your sweet note.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

