A Life of Joy (Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #4) | Amy Clipston Marathon

Today I am reviewing A Life of Joy, the fourth novel in the Kauffman Amish Bakery series by Amy Clipston.

This is what GoodReads has to say about A Life of Joy:

Take a trip to Bird-in-Hand, Pennsylvania, where you’ll meet the women of the Kauffman Amish Bakery in Lancaster County. As each woman’s story unfolds, you will share in her heartaches, trials, joys, dreams and secrets.

You’ll discover how the simplicity of the Amish lifestyle can clash with the English way of life and the decisions and consequences that follow. Most importantly, you will be encouraged by the hope and faith of these women, and the importance they place on their families.

In A Life of Joy, the fourth installment in the series, eighteen-year-old Lindsay Bedford has reached a crossroads. Should she stay in the small Amish community she’s known and loved for four years or return to the English life in her hometown in Virginia where her older sister is a college student? An extended visit to Virginia might just tip the scales as Lindsay reconnects with friends, joins a new church, works on her GED, and is pressured by her sister to stay and “make something of herself.”

Will Lindsay leave her aunt Rebecca and become English or settle in Bird-in-Hand and join the Amish church? Legions of Clipston fans want to know. Full of well-researched Amish culture, Clipston’s book is true to form, delivering the best of the Amish fiction genre wrapped around a compelling story, with characters who will touch the hearts of loyal fans and new readers alike.

 

MY THOUGHTS:

What! You’re kidding me, right?

Okay… I’ll level with you…

Amy Clipston has done it again! I thought when I saw the title of this book, that it meant one of two things – that Jessica returns home and joins the Amish life, or that Lindsay would join the church and live, well, live a life of joy!

What I didn’t expect was for Lindsay to have doubts! She who has been determined all along is suddenly unsure of what direction to take. But Amy knows Lindsay better than me… and she knew Lindsay needed time to decide the best for her future, especially since Jessica keeps hounding her to join the “real world” and making her feel bad about her current choices.

Amy is such an amazing writer! As difficult as it is, I refuse to say anything else, so if you haven’t read the book, I won’t spoil anything. Be sure to read it – it’s great!

(Okay, I will say one thing… Amy leads you around lots of curves, all the way to the end… and makes certain you’re dying to read the next one and see what happens – oh no, I can’t stand it – oh wait, the next one is available, so you won’t have to worry about passing the time until it comes out, you can read it now! – yay).

And don’t forget to click below to find out how you can enter the BIG contest!

Amy Clipston Marathon | GIVEAWAY!

 

Click HERE for more from Zondervan.

You can click HERE to read my reviews and find other info on GoodReads.

Click HERE to purchase the book on ChristianBooks and HERE for Amazon

Click HERE to visit Amy Clipston’s website.

God bless you!

 

©Donna J. Mynatt 2014

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “A Life of Joy (Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #4) | Amy Clipston Marathon

  1. Linda Knott August 13, 2014 at 11:20 am

    I love your reviews! Right on the same track as my thinking. I am in love with these Kauffman Bakery books! In a way I was a little surprised with Lindsay while taking care of her aunt. I sort of expected the GED because of the “brow beating” her sister kept giving her; but some of the other things that ran through her mind did surprise me. I was happy with how she stuck to the conservative type clothing though and when the light bulb finally came on and she was determined to go home and “be Amish” in everything, I really was not surprised. Like you said, she was always leaning towards the Amish life. I blame her sister with causing any sort of doubt. In a lot of ways Lindsay was more mature and grown up and totally unselfish than her older sister.

    I so hope there will be more Kauffman Bakery books. I love this huge extended family. I’ve now read all of Amy’s books and am looking forward to her next one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • DJ Mynatt August 13, 2014 at 11:26 am

      I am just finishing “A Season of Love” and will post my review on Friday. Then I plan to read an YA called “Reckless Heart” – it’s supposed to have some of the same characters and I’m very excited to be reading it. I plan to review it, too.

      Thanks so much for reading my reviews! Do you have any of Amy’s bookmarks? (I can send you some if you don’t).

      Like

Comments are closed.

