roadside assistance | Amy Clipston Marathon

Today I am reviewing roadside assistance, a young adult (YA) novel by Amy Clipston.

This is what GoodReads has to say about roadside assistance:

Emily Curtis is used to dealing with her problems while under the hood of an old Chevy, but when her mom dies, Emily’s world seems shaken beyond repair.

Driven from home by hospital bills they can’t pay, Emily and her dad move in with his wealthy sister, who intends to make her niece more feminine – in other words, just like Whitney, Emily’s perfect cousin.

But when Emily hears the engine of a 1970 Dodge Challenger, and sees the cute gearhead, Zander, next door, things seem to be looking up.

But even working alongside Zander can’t completely fix the hole in Emily’s life. Ever since her mom died, Emily hasn’t been able to pray, and no one—not even Zander—seems to understand. But sometimes the help you need can come from the person you least expect.

MY THOUGHTS:

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I picked up roadside assistance to read… one thing I knew for sure, was if Amy Clipston had written it, it would be a “great read”… but since I’m nearing retirement, I wasn’t sure if I could see it from the eyes of a teenager, which would make sense, as it is being listed as YA fiction.

While it is true that I identified easily with the adults… Brad, Darlene and Chuck, Pastor Keith and Jenna… it was also remarkably easy to identify with the main character.

Seventeen-year-old Emily loses her mom, her boyfriend, and then her home. She and her dad are forced to move in with his sister and her family. Emily turns away from God, feeling like she’s lost everything that matters (except her dad).

I really loved this story… it drew me in quickly and without warning; before I knew it, I was over half done and obviously I wasn’t going to put it down until I was finished. Thankfully I began reading early, with minor interruptions, so I was able to finish and get to bed before midnight.

Normally wait until I have written the review before picking up another book, but I couldn’t wait to get started on the sequel, destination unknown… this story focuses on Emily’s cousin Whitney! Cool!

I’ll be posting my review of destination unknown in a couple of days, but let me just say it’s every bit as good as roadside assistance. I know, because I read it during my lunch hour at work and had the hardest time putting it down and going back to work. I will even admit that I left the book at work and didn’t remember until I reached home – where I promptly turned around and went back after it!

We’re talking Nashville traffic, people… during rush hour! My normal trip home usually takes 25 minutes; this round trip took almost 90 minutes!

But I finally got home, ate dinner and wrote this review… now I can finish destination unknown!

Happy Reading!!!

And don’t forget to click below to find out how you can enter the BIG contest!

Amy Clipston Marathon | GIVEAWAY!

 

Click HERE for more from Zondervan.

You can click HERE to read more reviews and find other info on GoodReads.

Click HERE to purchase the book on ChristianBooks and HERE for Amazon

Click HERE to visit Amy Clipston’s website.

God bless you!

 

©Donna J. Mynatt 2014

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

