A Simple Amish Christmas | Vannetta Chapman Marathon

46c798a402a78d2067096622_181x280

 

Today I am reviewing A Simple Amish Christmas, a wonderful Christmas novel by one of my favorite authors, Vannetta Chapman.

Here’s a brief synopsis from Goodreads:

Will Annie find acceptance in the Amish community she left behind?

Annie Weaver always planned to return home, but the 20-year old RN has lived in Philadelphia for three years now.

As her time of rumschpringe is about to come to an abrupt end, bringing for Annie an overwhelming sense of loneliness.

She returns home and finds herself face-to-face with a budding romance with an Amish farmer and important choices to make.

 

MY THOUGHTS:

Vannetta puts so much “character” in her characters!

 

I wasn’t surprised in the least when Annie immediately gave up her job and returned home when she heard of her father’s accident and that she was needed. I laughed and laughed at how Samuel treated her… having no idea that she was professionally trained, since she was too stubborn to admit to him that she knew exactly how to care for her father.

Once the reader understands what is happening between Annie and Samuel, it’s easy to see why they both resist their feelings. And of course, there’s another suiter to take into consideration, who Annie seems pretty fond of. Which one will Annie choose?

I’m continually amazed at how easily it is to picture what’s going on in my mind. And whether or not she’s writing about Annie and Samuel… or Annie working in the hospital, it seems perfectly normal and right.

I don’t want to give away anything else, so I’ll let you read the book for yourself. But come back in a couple of days to read my review of the sequel, The Christmas Quilt.

As a matter of fact, if you’re just now thinking of reading A Simple Amish Christmas and The Christmas Quilt, I have the happy news to share that both books are available and can be read one right after the other!

When I read A Simple Amish Christmas, I had to wait three years for The Christmas Quilt to be published.

A Simple Amish Christmas was the first novel I read by Vannetta Chapman. I actually began reading it on my iPhone after checking out a digital copy of the ebook from the public library… and I immediately fell in love with it!

Now I have the paperback book plus the digital book (on my iPhone, iPad mini, laptop)… I want to be sure I have it handy so I can share it with others (or maybe the truth of it is that I just want to be able to read it anytime and anyplace I want).

** Here’s an interesting tidbit you might not know…

A Simple Amish Christmas is the ninth book Vannetta wrote, but her first book to be published!

 

** For more tidbits about Vannetta’s writing journey, click HERE in 4 days (Saturday, September 6, 2014).

 

And don’t forget to click below to find out how you can enter the BIG contest!

Vannetta Chapman Marathon | GIVEAWAY!

 

You can read more about the book on GoodReads HERE

You can find more about Vannetta Chapman on her website… HERE

God bless you!

 

©Donna J. Mynatt 2014

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “A Simple Amish Christmas | Vannetta Chapman Marathon

  1. vannettachapman September 7, 2014 at 1:10 pm

    It’s hard to believe that my first Amish book came out in 2010, and my 10th came out last March. It’s been a busy few years. Thank you to all your readers who have given my books a chance!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

