A Wedding For Julia | Vannetta Chapman Marathon

Today I am reviewing A Wedding For Julia, the third novel in the Pebble Creek Amish Series by Vanetta Chapman.

Here is a brief synopsis from Goodreads:

A Wedding for Julia, the third book in a romantic series from popular author Vannetta Chapman, takes a last look at the Amish community of Pebble Creek and the kind, caring people there. As they face challenges from the English world, they come together to reach out to their non-Amish neighbors while still preserving their cherished Plain ways.

Julia Beechy is so stunned, she can hardly breathe. Her mother’s announcement that she must either marry or move from the family home upon her mother’s imminent death catches Julia by surprise. How can she leave the only home she has ever known? What about her dream of opening her own Plain cafe?

When Caleb Zook offers support, comfort, and a solution, Julia is afraid to accept it. Can she marry someone she barely knows? Is it the right thing to do? Is this God’s plan for her future?

Caleb thought his time for marrying was long past, but he feels a stirring in his heart he cannot shake for this beautiful, forlorn woman. Amid the circumstances of this life-altering decision, the people of Pebble Creek weather the worst storm to hit Wisconsin in the last hundred years. Where will Julia and Caleb be on the other side of it?

MY THOUGHTS:

In A Wedding For Julia, when I discovered that upon the event of their deaths, Julia’s parents had made previous arrangements to send their daughter back to their hometown – a place she’d never been – I was a bit irate!

After all, Julia isn’t a child – she’s in her mid 30’s!

When I mentioned it to my daughter, who’s also in her mid 30’s, she agreed with me. She had several unfavorable comments regarding such a “ridiculous” decision made by parents, who obviously didn’t think much of the idea of grown children being able to make their own choices!

However, after considering how I might feel if I thought my only child might be left on her own, I realized that their arrangement made much sense. On the contrary, it makes no sense to not make some sort of plans for your unmarried daughter, who will be all alone in the world. Of course, she had others in the community, but that’s not the same at all.

And as I kept reading, I found that Julia’s parents had made the best choice for their daughter; indeed, she might never have married if not for these arrangements!

Wow! Vannetta Chapman can weave a story!

She did a superb job with this series – the different location introduced a group with different problems! It completely took me by surprise! The research Vannetta went through to write this series really brought the characters to life. I was so engrossed nothing seemed to disturb my concentration…

Without exposing too much, it is difficult to describe how eloquent and inspirational this story is for readers; I laughed… and cried… with Julia, Caleb, Sharon and Ada. I was touched by their faith and their devotion to family and friends – even their Englisch friends.

Whoa – and the major events that take place here… Vannetta successfully describes the situation in such detail, I could feel the wind buffeting me, the heat surrounding me, the tension mounting, the loud roar and the terror that Julia and the others were experiencing.

If you haven’t taken time to read this series, I urge you to do so now… you will not be disappointed.

I can’t wait to read the last story in this series – Christmas at Pebble Creek – another free short story available in digital format for Vannetta’s readers.

And don’t forget to click below to find out how you can enter the BIG contest!

Vannetta Chapman Marathon | GIVEAWAY!

You can read more reviews and more about the book on Goodreads HERE

You can find more about Vanetta Chapman on her website… HERE

God bless you!

©Donna J. Mynatt 2014

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

