Andi Unexpected | Amanda Flower Marathon

  

Andi Unexpected is the first book in the Andi Boggs series by our favorite librarian/author Amanda Flower.

 

Here is a brief synopsis from Goodreads:

Twelve-year-old Andora ‘Andi’ Boggs and her fourteen-year-old sister Bethany move to rural Ohio to live with their eccentric twenty-something aunt after the sudden death of their parents.

While dealing with her grief, Andi discovers proof of another Andora Boggs in the family tree whose existence was hidden in a Depression-era trunk in the attic.

With help from her new friend and neighbor, Colin Carter, Andi is determined to find out who this first Andora was and what happened to her.

 

MY THOUGHTS:

This is not my usual genre…

I guess this should be pretty obvious… since it’s not only an young adult (YA) novel, but it was written specifically for ages 8-12. Opening the book, I promptly “put myself” in the place of my grandchildren, and began reading…

The writing style, in my opinion, is just right… intelligent, interesting, exciting… and it’s written from the perspective of a twelve-year old. I am absolutely sure my grandchildren will love reading the series!

Amanda Flower does a superb job with these characters… Andi has the best disposition… and Colin is proving to be a good friend to her. Her sister acts just like an older sister would behave. Her aunt is determined to make a home for them, along with showing the proper authority and discipline that she feels they need. The other characters are helpful, interesting, and very real.

Moms and Dads will enjoy the story; it’s a great read for bedtime. Children will enjoy the look of the chapters…

IMG_2700

If you’re looking for some great additions to your home library, I would heartedly suggest the Andi Boggs series, beginning with Andi Unexpected… the next sequel is Andi Under Pressure – I can’t wait to begin reading it tonight, so I can review it on Friday…

…and I understand there’s more sequels to come!

And don’t forget to click below to find out how you can enter Amanda’s GIVEAWAY contest!

Amanda Flower Marathon | Giveaway!

You can read more reviews and more about the book on Goodreads HERE

You can find more about Amanda Flower on her website… HERE

 

God bless you!

©Donna J. Mynatt 2014

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

