A Harvest of Hearts | Laura V. Hilton Marathon


A Harvest of Hearts
is the second book in The Amish of Seymour series by Laura V. Hilton.

Here is a brief synopsis:

Worlds apart, yet one in heart.

A participant in a swap of Amish men, independent yet kindhearted Matthew Yoder was glad to leave the vast farmland of Lancaster County and make a fresh start in Missouri, where he’s living with the Stoltzfus family until he finds a place of his own.

Strong-minded yet filled with compassion, Shanna Stoltzfus always dreamed of becoming a nurse, despite her father’s threats to shun her.

Determined to follow her heart, Shanna ran away and enrolled in college.

But when her classmates embark on a medical mission trip that Shanna can’t afford, she must turn to the last place she wants to go for help: home.

Even though Shanna still flirts with the people and practices of her Englisch life, Matthew is fascinated by the Stoltzfuses’ prodigal daughter, and a close friendship soon blossoms between them.

Amid mounting tension with her father and growing attraction to Matthew, Shanna must ask herself some tough questions and decide where her true home is.

MY THOUGHTS:

I am immersing myself in The Amish of Seymour series!

This is something I enjoy doing, whenever I have the time… to take a beloved book series – begin with the first one and continue in order until I’ve read the last one, with no interruptions, at least by any other story line.

Let me just say that while A Harvest of Hearts is one of my favorite books and a great sequel… Shanna isn’t one of my favorite characters!

There! I’ve said it… and I really didn’t want to say it, but she’s just so pushy, so irritating, so Englisch!

Matthew is so patient, so kind, just like one would expect him to be. But Shanna’s dad is the biggest surprise! Wonderful story, wonderful characters!

Laura is so skillful; she puts in a character that I sometimes want to smack (or give a time-out!) but the story needs this character. The best part is seeing how she acts -– and reacts -– throughout the book.

I mentioned in the review for Patchwork Dreams that the characters are “full of character” for better or worse. Well, this sequel is just part of the same excellent work of the author.

Don’t miss reading A Harvest of Hearts; better yet, read the entire series… you’ll be glad you did!

If you enjoy reading Amish novels, you’ll love Patchwork Dreams… and A Harvest of Hearts! If you enjoy reading good Christian romance novels, you’ll really love the entire series!

Don’t miss this great Amish series! Get yours today!

And don’t forget to click below to find out how you can enter Laura’s GIVEAWAY contest!

Laura V. Hilton Marathon | Giveaway!

You can read more reviews and more about the book on Goodreads HERE

You can find more about Laura V. Hilton on her website… HERE

Disclosure of Material Connection: The opinions I express are my own, but I received this book free from the author in appreciation for featuring her this month on my blog.
 

God bless you!

 

©Donna J. Mynatt 2014

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “A Harvest of Hearts | Laura V. Hilton Marathon

  1. sharontimmer1959 November 5, 2014 at 1:10 pm

    Her Quilts of Love book is my favorite!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. corgie40 November 5, 2014 at 3:23 pm

    I have Patchwork of Dreams but I would enjoy this book too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cathy Hickling November 7, 2014 at 3:48 pm

    How wonderfully awesome — a Laura V. Hilton marathon!! Her first book, “Patchwork Dreams,” grabbed the attention of Amish fiction lovers, but it was with #2, “Harvest of Hearts,” where Laura’s amazing story-telling ability received national recognition, winning COTT’s “Laurel Award.” This was no small feat! The book first had to compete with well established authors to win the Amish category (not bad for her 2nd book in the genre). Then the book vied with the winners of a dozen similar competitions in other genres. When the dust settled, Laura’s “Harvest of Hearts” came home the big winner of the Laurel Award. It’s so great you’re featuring it and all her books, and I totally agree — her characters are “full of character.” I’m the hardworking Whitaker House publicist so I admit to being more than a little biased, but I love Laura and her books. Inevitably, for those with ears to hear, the voice of God speaks through her and the wonderful characters and stories she creates.I’m so excited you’re hosting this marathon and will do my best to let others know about it.
    God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

    • DJ Mynatt November 7, 2014 at 10:15 pm

      Thank you, Cathy! I’m thrilled to have you visit my blog! If you’ll check out the comments, there are a lot of Laura V. Hilton readers — and prospective readers — waiting patiently for a chance to win her books!

      Like

Comments are closed.

