A Question of Destiny | Anita Higman


Today I’m reviewing A Question of Destiny by Anita Higman.

Here is a brief synopsis from Goodreads:

Lucy O’Brien is about to be given ten millions dollars and a chance to live a life she never imagined.

Will this new found wealth be Lucy’s undoing, or can she rise above the temptations within high society and choose to become a nobler version of herself?

And will the solitary Andrew Whitfield—a man who watches over Lucy as she adapts to her new lifestyle—cause her to close the door on her dreams or be the key that opens the rest of Lucy’s destiny?

 

MY THOUGHTS:

What a wonderful story!

Is Lucy O’Brien the luckiest girl in the world? Or the most blessed? Or is being given ten million dollars the worst thing that could happen to her!

I have to be honest… although I have been wanting to read a novel by Anita Higman, I was prepared to not really like this story. I was sure that once Lucy was given the money, and began enjoying a “better life”, especially with the new, rich friends who are eager to guide her, she would change into someone I didn’t like, even if she had good intentions.

Even worse, she seemed too innocent, and I was fearful that she would be swindled out of her money, especially when I began reading how everyone she knew began to drop rather large hints. If you want to know what happens, you’ll have to read the story – I have no intention of spoiling it for you!

Yes, there are a few unsavory characters – but how do you show the good in some characters without showing the bad in others; how do you show the love and affection in some without showing the superficial feelings of others?

Yes, this book has the good and bad, the rich and poor, the innocent and the charlatans! If you read the story, you’ll find them all, but you’ll be delighted by the way the events unfold, I am certain.

Lucy is a delightful, intuitive character; as a matter of fact, I enjoyed the intriguing variety of characters, even Mrs. Krill.

And Jeremy… well, I think I enjoyed the book even more because of the interaction between him and Lucy – it’s unforgettable!

Hey, but don’t take my word for it – read it yourself. If you have a kindle, you can start reading it in a matter of minutes.

Enjoy!

You can read more reviews and more about the book on Goodreads HERE

You can find more about Anita Higman on her website… HERE

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review.

God bless you!

 

©Donna J. Mynatt 2014

Tagged: , , , , ,

