Amish Friends Christmas Cookbook | Wanda E. Brunstetter

Today I’m reviewing the Amish Friends Christmas Cookbook by the wonderful Wanda E. Brunstetter.

Here is a brief synopsis from Goodreads:

The must-have cookbook of the season is Wanda E. Brunstetter’s Amish Friends Christmas Cookbook—a brand new collection of holiday recipes and insights into Christmas celebrations direct from Amish homes.

You’ll also enjoy the addition of scriptures and common Amish sayings.

Surrounded by a beautiful lay-flat binding, this cookbook is the perfect holiday gift for yourself and friends

MY THOUGHTS:

The Amish Friends Christmas Cookbook is exactly what I have been wanting for Christmas… the fact that I received it from Wanda Brunstetter made it one of the biggest surprises I’ve ever received!

I couldn’t wait to try it…

The cookbook is broken down into groups: snacks and bites, breads and rolls, gifts from the kitchen, salads, main dishes and sides, sweets and desserts.

It has a brief history of the Amish and Mennonites, then goes on to describe an Amish Christmas, the most important holiday celebrated by the Amish church groups that do celebrations – a few very strict Old Order groups do not celebrate Christmas.

Wanda writes about the typical Amish school Christmas programs, and family traditions, including music and decorations.

But the most important tradition among the Amish is the day after Christmas, referred to as Second Christmas. This is the day for families to be with friends and extended family, and gifts are often exchanged.

Another tradition is Old Christmas… but I won’t say anything else about it… you can read about it in Wanda’s cookbook.

Now on to the recipes…

I’m not going to list the recipes, but I can assure you they look mouth-watering… I can almost taste them!

OK, I’ll name just a few of my favorites:
1. Kalochis
2. Peanut butter fudge
3. Holiday Spritz
4. Pumpkin Whoopie Pies
5. Chili Pie Casserole (shown below)

IMG_2870

IMG_2871

Here are before and after pictures from when I made the Chili Pie Casserole – my family loved it… it didn’t last long!

All in all one of the best Christmas gifts I’ve ever received.

Merry Christmas, Wanda!

And if you’re looking for a great Christmas gift for friends… pick up a copy of Wanda’s Amish Friends Christmas Cookbook, a sweet addition to any cook’s library — just in time for Christmas!

You can find more about WANDA on her website… HERE

Merry Christmas and God bless you!

 

© Donna J. Mynatt 2014

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “Amish Friends Christmas Cookbook | Wanda E. Brunstetter

  1. Melanie Backus December 7, 2014 at 4:23 pm

    I love cookbooks and my mouth is watering just thinking about this one!

    Like

Comments are closed.

