The Christmas Cradle | Charlotte Hubbard & Naomi King Marathon

 


Today I’m reviewing The Christmas Cradle, the sixth book in the Seasons Of The Heart series by Charlotte Hubbard.

Here is a brief synopsis:

For the peaceful town of Willow Ridge, November presents an early holiday surprise.

Stranded in the snow, 18-year-old Lena Esh and her boyfriend Josiah Witmer need more than a place to stay for the night.

Lena defied her strict family and their judgmental beliefs to run away with Josiah and have his baby. But she’s starting to wonder if he can prove as responsible as he is passionate. And she isn’t sure how—or if—they can ever find a place to truly call home.

Expecting their own miracle baby, Miriam and Ben Hooley rally the town to help the young couple, and Lena draws strength from their unexpected support.

Though trouble may come calling, in this season of joyous rebirth, a little child will lead them. And two couples will see their dreams of forever family come true…

 
The perfect Christmas story for readers… Seasons of the Heart series by Charlotte Hubbard! Tweet this!
 

MY THOUGHTS:

I was unexpectedly blessed with an advance copy of The Christmas Cradle so I could add it to the wonderful Seasons of the Heart series – and post my review for my wonderful readers!

This is a wonderful story to read at Christmas time… or anytime!

I began reading The Christmas Cradle, thinking about a certain baby being born…. I just love babies (so do the Amish)!

You are probably not going to be surprised when I “reveal” that even at Christmas time, guess who shows up… nope, it’s not Santa. It’s Hiram – again – and he’s determined to spoil the good time the folks in Willow Ridge are planning. Hmm, perhaps the shoe fits in this book – he’s a scrooge!

No matter… Charlotte does a superb job introducing a few new characters, made to feel welcome by the folks in the community (of course). I declare, the characters are more “real” than most of the people I know. And they know that with God, all things are possible.

I love how their faith shines through, yet nothing about these books are “preachy” – just good common sense, along with faith, love and hope. And that’s exactly what we all need in our own lives today!

If you enjoy reading great stories, with wonderful, “real” characters going through problems, yet not giving up, I cannot encourage you enough to read the Seasons of the Heart series!
 
Christmas is a time for precious gifts… The Christmas Cradle by Charlotte Hubbard – coming soon. Tweet this!
 

There’s only a few more days to enter Charlotte’s GIVEAWAY contest!

Charlotte Hubbard & Naomi King Marathon | Giveaway!

God bless you!

 

Review © 2015 DJ Mynatt

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “The Christmas Cradle | Charlotte Hubbard & Naomi King Marathon

  1. Marilyn R July 29, 2015 at 8:24 am

    I cannot wait for The Christmas Cradle to be out. I have thoroughly enjoy this series by Charlotte and feel like I’m friends with the characters. The characters’ strength, faith and compassion for everyone brings inspiration and encouragement how our own communities would be if we lived this way. No surprise Hiram would cause more drama in The Christmas Cradle as he has been so evil since he was ex-communicated after finding out his sins as a bishop and unwilling to seek forgiveness and forsake the ways he was living against the Amish church. Blessings and look forward to the new series Charlotte Hubbard will be writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. D K Stevens July 29, 2015 at 8:34 am

    The perfect Christmas story 🙂 & I have got to meet this Hiram! You make him sound like a very memorable character.. I love a book that makes you want to meet them just because! !

    Like

  3. Charlotte Hubbard July 29, 2015 at 9:03 am

    Thanks for staying with us on this July marathon, DK! If you really want to appreciate Hiram, I suggest starting at the beginning of the series, with SUMMER OF SECRETS, so you can fully appreciate how he does NOT improve with age!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ajwbear July 29, 2015 at 10:12 am

    I want to read A Christmas Cradle, I love reading Christmas stories any time of the year.

    Like

    • Charlotte Hubbard July 29, 2015 at 11:03 am

      I love writing them any time of year, too, ajw! I put on my playlist of instrumental Christmas music and really enjoy concocting the story! Thanks for chiming in today!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Anna Key-Ellis July 29, 2015 at 10:22 am

    I have thoroughly enjoyed all the books in this series, looking forward to Christmas Cradle. I love Miriam she is the glue that holds the books together. Keep writing good clean stories, in our sad world we need a little love!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Charlotte Hubbard July 29, 2015 at 11:04 am

      Thank you so much, Anna! I love Miriam, too–and I wish I could be more like her!

      Like

  6. Melanie Backus July 29, 2015 at 7:43 pm

    I love Christmas stories and what a beautiful cover!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. conniepsaunders July 30, 2015 at 10:43 am

    This sounds like the perfect story for this Christmas loving reader!
    Connie

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Deb Simmering July 30, 2015 at 3:24 pm

    The cover on this book is beautiful and I can hardly wait to read it. Love to read, and reading Amish books are my favorite genre. Have a Blessed Day.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

