Promise to Keep | Elizabeth Byler Younts

 

Today I am reviewing Promise to Keep, the third book in the Promise of Sunrise series by Elizabeth Byler Younts.

Here is a brief synopsis:

World War II Marine Joe Garrison returns home from war longing to be a father to his deaf daughter, Daisy, only to find that she is attached to Esther Detweiler, the Amish woman who has raised her since his wife’s death in this touching historical romance.

Orphaned as a child, Esther Detweiler is used to caring for herself and her ailing grandmother. They made the best out of a hard life and poverty without asking for help. They even take in her shunned cousin’s deaf daughter, Daisy, when her mother dies and her father goes off to war. When Esther’s grandmother dies, Daisy is all she has.

When war veteran Joe Garrison returns, all he can think about is recovering from the horrors of war and building a relationship with his seven-year-old daughter. Daisy, however, is unwilling to leave Esther, whom she loves. Joe and Daisy get to know each other again, but Joe struggles with nightmares and fatherhood is proving to be more difficult than he imagined. Esther loves Daisy and despite her Amish ways, Joe finds himself drawn to her as a woman and not just a caregiver.

As their love blossoms, Joe decides to send Daisy away to a school for the deaf which propels their lives into turmoil and a battle for love and family.

 

Don’t miss PROMISE TO KEEP… 3rd in the Promise of Sunrise series by Elizabeth Byler Younts. Tweet this!
 
 
MY THOUGHTS:

Elizabeth Byler Younts is an amazing, talented writer!

She writes such colorful, full-of-life characters, that the reader begins to wonder if these characters are people she knows… because no one could make up such interesting characters – but Ms. Younts does indeed make them up.

Promise to Keep is an excellent example…

I don’t have very many favorite authors who write historical fiction during the World War I and World War II period. Yet I find myself caught up in each new book, the story more true-to-life than life itself – at least for me.

Esther Detweiler is an amazing young woman! After losing both her parents while still young, she takes care of her sick grandmother, who passes on. And… she has been caring for Daisy, the young daughter of her shunned cousin, for the past four years since her cousin’s death. Daisy’s father, not knowing what to do with his young, deaf daughter, left to join the military and went to war – preferable to caring for his daughter.

Ms. Younts goes into great detail about the rigors of war, along with the nightmares – the night terrors that make it impossible for him to care for his daughter. Young Daisy has her own problems – but I don’t want to say any more. So far, I think I’ve mostly kept to the synopsis, but I’d hate to give away too much.

Read the book. I finished the last page and walked away, feeling like I had been part of it. This is a wonderful story; I know it’s fiction, but I wouldn’t have been surprised to find that it was a true account – it’s that real.

You really should read it.
 
Joe Garrison returns home to Esther Detweiler… is their love strong enough to last? Tweet this!
 
 
God bless you!

Review © 2015 DJ Mynatt
 

Tagged: , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Promise to Keep | Elizabeth Byler Younts

  1. Trixi O. October 17, 2015 at 10:51 pm

    Donna, this sounds like a fantastic book! I’ve only seen this in one other place, so it must be pretty new. And a new author for me, I love discovering new writers!! Thanks for another great review 🙂 This is going on my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ajwbear October 17, 2015 at 11:28 pm

    I’m not really into books that are in the war era, but this one looks like it is going to be an interesting book and I want to read it. Wish I could win a copy of it.

    Like

  3. Marilyn October 18, 2015 at 7:35 am

    Donna, the Promise of Sunrise series definitely sounds like a series I will have to read with your review. Thanks for the review and introducing another new author to me. I’ve added this book and the entire series to my TBR list. Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.