The Birdhouse | Laura V Hilton

 

Today I am reviewing The Birdhouse, the third book in the Amish of Jamesport series by Laura V. Hilton.

Here is a brief synopsis:

Twenty-year old Greta Miller’s daed has been injured in a farming accident during the summer. The supportive Amish community is helping out, but Greta and her siblings must still work outside the home to make ends meet. They rent a booth at the Amish Market.

Because Greta is still in her rumspringa and free to explore the world, her family selects her to sell her homemade jams, jellies, and preserves to Englischers for Christmas gifts. While working at the Amish market, she renews her acquaintance with Amish man Josh Yoder who crafts birdhouses for sale at the Amish Market.

Josh arranges for her to ride with his Englisch neighbor, Stan Harris, both to shelter her from the winter weather and to help transport her goods. Greta is attracted to the kind, considerate Josh, but wary, due to their past history. Stan also intrigues her with his free-spirited attitude and ability to seemingly do whatever he wants.

Josh wants to court Greta, but years ago, he made the mistake of rejecting her during a seemingly innocent game. Now she wants nothing to do with him. She’s polite, but nothing more. Josh feels like an outcast, since he’s offended so many during his rumspringa and then left the area for awhile. He’s struggling to fit in and rebuild relationships he’s destroyed.

An unexpected turn of events turns everything topsy-turvy. What will it take to bring wandering ones home to the community to roost?

 
PROMISE TO KEEP by Laura V. Hilton… is one of the best novels I’ve read in awhile! Tweet this!
 
 
MY THOUGHTS:

W.O.W.

I began reading The Birdhouse yesterday afternoon… and even with a few interruptions – yeah, my family does that, even when the book is an awesome read – I was finished before midnight. Is it weird that the story was SO good I had to wait to write my review until today?

That almost never happens to me… but I just wanted to lie down, close my eyes, and savor the moment. The fact that it was midnight made it much easier to do this.

My favorite genre is Amish fiction; I make no secret of this. And I have more than a few favorite authors of Amish fiction. But Laura – her stories are just so centered, so true, that even the day after I’ve finished a book, I have to remind myself that it most likely isn’t true. (Can you tell that I still cling to the hope that it IS true?)

In this third sequel of The Amish of Jamesport, Greta Miller seems so much more real to me – and I hope she will to you, too. The story between Greta and Josh Yoder is one that has probably been told before – at least parts of it – but hopefully some of it has never happened in real life to any of the young Amish girls.

You know I can’t tell you what happens… it would surely ruin the story for you. But please, if you enjoy Amish fiction, get a copy and read it for yourself – it’s amazing… absolutely amazing!

And if at all possible, get the first two books of the series – and read them in sequence, one after another. You’ll be glad you did.
 
An unexpected turn of events has Josh searching frantically for Greta… will he find her in time? Tweet this!
 
 
God bless you!
 
Review © 2015 DJ Mynatt
 

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Birdhouse | Laura V Hilton

  1. Marilyn October 18, 2015 at 8:08 am

    Another great Amish series to read after your review. Your review reminds me of another great Amish author that is at the top of my list. As this author’s characters become family that left you wondering what was happening in their lives after finishing each book and then recently the final one in the series. The Amish of Jamesport sounds like this will happen again. Have a blessed day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ajwbear October 18, 2015 at 8:56 pm

    I can’t wait to read this book. Sounds like it is going to be another good book.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

