Valerie Comer – Author Spotlight

 

Thank you for joining me for this delightful Author Spotlight!


And now, introducing…

valeriecomer

 

Valerie Comer’s life on a small farm in western Canada provides the seed for stories of contemporary inspirational romance. Like many of her characters, Valerie and her family grow much of their own food and are active in the local foods movement as well as their creation-care-centric church. She only hopes her creations enjoy their happily ever afters as much as she does hers, shared with her husband, adult kids, and adorable granddaughters.

Valerie writes Farm Lit where food meets faith, injecting experience laced with humor into her award-winning Farm Fresh Romance stories.

 

valcomer farmfiction

 

You’ve come to the right place! Valerie Comer is a farmer, locavore, beekeeper . . . and the author of the Farm Fresh Romance series.

Valerie blogs where food meets faith. If you’re interested in God’s perspective on the topic, Valerie extends an invite to you to get to know her and her novels. While she might not have all the answers, exploring the subject is close to her heart — and God’s.

 

Valerie, thank you for taking time out of your busy day to answer a few questions, so your fans can get to know more about you…

 

1) I absolutely fell in love with your Farm Fresh Romance series… it’s amazing how you’ve written such inspiring stories, while introducing most of us to the benefits and advantages of “farm fresh” idea of living. Why did you decide to write what most of us would describe as a “new genre”?

When I looked at the contemporary romance market, I knew I didn’t fit with authors who wrote urban-based stories about women in heels and men in suits. I needed to find a place where my own interests intersected with contemporary romance… and then hope there were readers who craved rural stories.

 

2) Was it scary putting something new out there?

Yes and no. Even though society has become so urban-centric in recent decades, many people dream of rural life, thinking of it as simpler and more romantic. I don’t write for “every reader.” I write for those who are, or wish to be, more connected to their roots and are interested in where their food comes from.

 

3) Which genre do you enjoy writing more – farm fresh lit or romance?

I have a hard time separating the two. I can’t see writing farm lit without romance in it, and some of my Riverbend Romances are light on local food issues, so that might answer the question. But I prefer to see them as a unit.

 

4) Have you ever used a pen name? If not, is this something you could see yourself doing?

No, I’ve never used a pen name, and I don’t see any reason I’d start doing so.

 

5) Do you attend writers’ conferences and workshops? Do you see any real value is them, or are them just for socialization?

I’ve attended four ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers) conferences as well as a few smaller regional conferences. I think they’re valuable. I definitely learned a lot about craft in the earlier ones, and more about marketing, etc, in more recent ones. Making connections is also valuable, and not just socially. I’ve met quite a few authors that I’ve worked with on the Inspy Romance blog or in box sets.

**Note to Valerie: I’ll be attending the 2016 ACFW Conference in Nashville . . . and I’d love to meet you in person if you plan to attend. Maybe we could get together for wild mint tea?

 

6) Can you name a few of your favorite writers/books?

I really don’t like questions like this because I have so many author friends and hate to choose favorites! So today I’ll simply mention Elizabeth Maddrey because I’m reading the third book in her Taste of Romance series these days. If you enjoy my Farm Fresh Romance series, check out Elizabeth’s series, starting with A Splash of Substance. She pops local food themes into an urban environment in a way I’m quite enjoying.

 

Now for a few fun facts…

Favorite vacation spot – Vancouver Island, in BC, Canada. I love the wild Pacific coast and staring out at the ocean, watching for whales

Favorite color – Green, of course!

Favorite food/drink – Too many to count, and it changes season by season depending on what’s fresh from the garden. But I guess I’ll say homemade mocha, being as I have at least one mug every day, no matter the time of year!

Favorite time of year – Whichever one we’re in at the moment. I try to find enjoyment in them all. I’m not fond of the high temperatures in summer, though.

Favorite hobbies – Hanging out with my three young granddaughters. Camping beside a mountain stream. Cooking veggies minutes from the garden.

Favorite holiday – Christmas, at least if both our kids and their families can be home. Family time is the best.

Favorite dessert – I have too many favorites here! The local foodie in me should say fruit cobblers, and I do enjoy them. But… chocolate usually wins.

 

Thank you, Valerie… and God bless you!

You can find Valerie on her WEBSITE, at FACEBOOK, TWITTER, GOODREADS, and AMAZON.

 

Don’t miss my interview/spotlight with VALERIE COMER…today on Donna’s BookShelf. Tweet this!

 

Interview © 2015 DJ Mynatt

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Valerie Comer – Author Spotlight

  1. Marilyn R November 20, 2015 at 8:45 am

    Thanks for the great interview with Valerie Comer. I want to read her books and learn more. I grew up on a farm with a large garden, so I like the concept of her books. Blessings to both of you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • DJ Mynatt November 20, 2015 at 10:16 am

      We have been praying for a farm… a small farm. We want to get out of the apartment and live on a farm, with cats, dogs, and chickens. Not sure what else we can handle, but a garden for certain! Looking forward to quilting, sewing, canning, and a fireplace or wood stove.

      Like

  2. Ann Ellison November 20, 2015 at 1:27 pm

    I certainly enjoyed this interview with Valerie. I am a big fan of hers and I have read and loved her books.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. beechtreehollow November 21, 2015 at 7:34 am

    I love Valerie Comer’s books! They are full of faith and reflect the care of people and the earth.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

