Ane Mulligan – Author Spotlight

 

Thank you for joining me for this amazing Author Spotlight!


First, a bit about Ane…


Ane Mulligan writes Southern-fried fiction served with a tall, sweet iced tea.

She firmly believes coffee and chocolate are two of the four major food groups.

Novelist and playwright, Ane is the executive director of Players Guild@Sugar Hill, a new community theater and president of the award-winning literary site, Novel Rocket.

She resides in Sugar Hill, GA, with her artist husband and a dog of Biblical proportion.

 

 

Readers can learn more about Ane at her website or find her on Facebook, Twitter, Amazon, Pinterest, Google+Novel Rocket and Goodreads.

 
8922899_orig

 

If you love reading Ane’s books as much as I do, I am honored to share some exciting news! Ane is searching for a few new members for her street team. If you’re interested (and who wouldn’t be interested), please contact Ane or check out her street team group HERE.

 

An interview with Ane Mulligan . . . today on Donna’s BookShelf.Tweet this!

 

And here is my interview with Ane:

1. Ane, what genre is “Southern-Fried Fiction?

General or contemporary fiction. It’s Southern, the “fried” refers to the humor in my writing. The brand was pinned on me by another writer. We were talking about voice and brand, and from reading emails from me she said, “Like your Southern-fried fiction.” My agent loved it and it stuck.

2. The town is certainly unique… what was your inspiration for Chapel Springs?

Chapel Springs is patterned after three places: Dahlonega, GA, Black Mountain, NC, and Sugar Hill, GA. All are small. Two are quaint. And all three have those busybodies who know all your business. They make bicker, like Claire and Mayor Felix Riley, but should someone threaten them from the outside, you won’t find better allies.

3. Claire and Patsy are true southern ladies! Are any of your characters taken from people you know?

Oh yes. Claire is a combination of three special ladies in my life. Carol Crosby is a hoot, a real character in her own right. She’s one of those people to whom things happen. She keeps me laughing. Becky Thompson says things that crack me up. You never know what will come out of her mouth. Patsy Hannah is one of those “man the torpedoes, charge ahead” people. I love these ladies and took traits from all three for Claire.

Patsy is a bit of several of my close friends. She’s loyal and always there. Many of the others characters are if I look closely, composites of members of my church and town. Most writers don’t purposely use people they know, but I think it just naturally happens.

Then there is Bud Pugh. He’s in every book I write. Bud is a dear older man at my church. When I’d have to pull together a large production for Christmas or Easter, getting people to play those parts wasn’t easy. But Bud Pugh always said yes. He always encouraged me. He was a natural to put in my books.

4. Do you regularly attend writers workshops and conferences? Are they helpful to you?

Absolutely! I attended my first writers conference in 2004, and have been to at least one a year ever since, sometimes two a year. They are always helpful in several ways. If I come away with just one “golden nugget” of new learning, the conference has been worth the time and money. You can’t absorb everything, so each time I go to one, my work gets better, I learn a new marketing tactic, or I make new friends. The best part is now I’m starting to teach at conferences. I love that. I want to share what I’ve learned and help other writers.

5. Can you tell us more about your book club – “Finding Hope in Fiction”?

This is a funny story and proves God has a sense of humor. About ten years ago, a new couple joined our church. Fred and Nora St.Laurent had been in theater in Florida, and our church secretary introduced us. We quickly became good friends.

Nora worked at a LifeWay bookstore near where I live. One day, I said to her, “We should start a book club. And you lead it, I’m too busy.”

Yeah. I really did that. What I didn’t know is that God was using me. He had big plans for Fred and Nora. About that same time, Nora’s boss at the bookstore asked her to start a book club there in the store. She argued with God for a time, but when He asked her to just love the ladies He sent to her, she agreed. She could do that.

Thus was born the Finding Hope in Fiction Book Club. Fast forward another eight or nine years, and the bookstore had to stop doing the book club there. By now, Nora and Fred had The Book Club Network and Book Fun Magazine going strong. So when Nora told me about having to stop the club, I felt a very sharp poke in my ribs. Yeah. God said, “Now it’s your turn.” Thankfully, He gave me a wonderful co-leader.

6. I love reading your New Year’s resolutions… will you share them with my readers?

I’d love to. I discovered donkey’s years ago I couldn’t keep resolutions, so now I only make ones I know I can keep. My 2016 resolutions are:

1. Drink coffee
2. Eat chocolate
3. Write
4. Read books
5. See a few plays
6. Gain a couple of pounds

The last one isn’t really a resolution, but it’s going to happen. If I include it in the list I don’t feel so bad.

7. Do you have plans for another series in the future?

I definitely do. I have another two-book series that’s ready to publish, and another idea for a Sugar Hill series. The mayor of Sugar Hill has been after me to write one set in our town. I have so many characters and stories in my head that I could keep writing for another fifty years.

Thank you, Ane! And thanks for sharing your resolutions with us… I think I could do most, if not all, of those myself! Readers, feel free to share your resolutions in a comment!

And THANK YOU, readers, for joining me for this very special AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT!
 
Drop by Donna’s BookShelf to talk books and recipes with Ane Mulligan! – Tweet this!
 
If you haven’t read the CHAPEL SPRINGS series by Ane Mulligan, you’re missing out on a great series! – Tweet this!

 
And don’t forget to check back tomorrow for the GRAND PRIZE WINNER!
 

Blessings!

 

Interview © 2016 DJ Mynatt

Tagged: , , ,

7 thoughts on “Ane Mulligan – Author Spotlight

  1. anemulligan January 15, 2016 at 9:55 am

    This was one of the most fun interviews I’ve done, DJ! Thanks for allowing me to share with your readers. You’ve blessed me beyond measure!

    Liked by 1 person

    • DJ Mynatt January 15, 2016 at 11:12 am

      My readers and I are blessed by your wonderful books… How about we meet back here next year for another marathon?

      Like

  2. D K Stevens January 15, 2016 at 12:42 pm

    Always enjoy Ane’s interviews! In my TBR stack 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Peter Muya January 15, 2016 at 2:52 pm

    Thank U Anne

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gail Hollingsworth January 15, 2016 at 3:26 pm

    Loved Chapel Springs Revival. Looking forward to this new one!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. anemulligan January 15, 2016 at 7:28 pm

    Dee, thank you! You and DJ are the best cheerleaders! You encourage me so much! Thanks, Peter. And Gail, I’m thrilled you loved Chapel Springs Revival. I hope you’ll love Survival as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Marilyn January 15, 2016 at 9:24 pm

    Thanks for the great interview with Ane, Donna! These books are definitely on my TBR list and I’ll have to check to see if our library has them at this time. Blessings to you both. I’ll look forward to Ane’s marathon next year.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

