Simple Pleasures | Marianne Jantzi

 

Today I am reviewing Simple Pleasures by Marianne Jantzi.

Here is a brief synopsis:

Young Amish homemaker Marianne Jantzi invites readers into her family’s life and Amish community.

The mother of four young children and wife of a storekeeper, Jantzi writes about her daily routines and heartfelt faith with equal measures of wit and warmth.

Sewing, cleaning, cooking, gardening, and helping to manage the store take up most hours in her day, but Jantzi finds time to pen columns for the Connection, a magazine beloved by Amish and Mennonite readers across the United States and Canada.

Never sugarcoating the frustrations of motherhood, Jantzi tells it like it is, broken washing machine and bickering children and all. But through her busy days, Yoder finds strength in simple pleasures of family, fellowship with her Amish community, and quiet time with God.

Hear straight from Amish people themselves as they write about their daily lives and deeply rooted faith in the Plainspoken series from Herald Press. Each book includes “A Day in the Life of the Author.”

 

MY THOUGHTS:

Simple Pleasures is a joy to read…

Marianne Jantzi speaks of real life – real day-to-day events, not fiction, not storytelling, but real, honest-to-goodness happenings. I could tell . . . most of the stories are too funny, too sad, or too deep – to be made up.

I confess, sometimes it sounds almost as if Marianne’s husband is telling the story. But I could be wrong (or maybe I was tired and didn’t pay good enough attention) . . . because I read the book without taking a single break. Not one. It was that good.

Warning: if you don’t like learning about how other people live, especially those who don’t live the same type of lifestyle you live, you might not enjoy this book. Then again, you just might. It’s very entertaining. Mostly because it involves small children – and children are almost always entertaining.

I learned a lot. And I’d love to visit Marianne and watch her family. They seem to have so much fun!

Marianne doesn’t hide her relationship with God – she shares it with her readers. I love this!

If you do enjoy reading about Amish life, you’ll love Simple Pleasures!

Happy Reading!

 

God Bless You!

Review © 2016 DJ Mynatt

I received a copy of this book from Litfuse in exchange for an honest review.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Simple Pleasures | Marianne Jantzi

  1. Mari April 22, 2016 at 8:37 am

    Definitely a book I want to read! Thank you for sharing the great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ldwrncpn April 22, 2016 at 10:30 am

    What a great review! I agree totally. I just finished the book. I learned so much and enjoyed walking in her shoes with her for a little while. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • DJ Mynatt April 22, 2016 at 12:27 pm

      This is definitely one of the better ones I’ve read…
      ~D

      Like

  3. Nancy Griggs April 22, 2016 at 12:05 pm

    This is one I am buying NOW!!! Thanks for telling us about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • DJ Mynatt April 22, 2016 at 12:27 pm

      You’re welcome. I’m glad you liked it. I’m sure you’ll enjoy reading it.
      ~D

      Like

Comments are closed.

