Refuge Of the Heart | Ruth Logan Herne

 


Today I am reviewing Refuge of the Heart by Ruth Logan Herne.

Here is the brief synopsis:

District Attorney Mitchell Sanderson wanted for nothing and lost everything in a tragic accident. A dogged worker, Mitch’s conviction rate earned him respect and trust. Now up for re-election, Mitch’s law-and-order persona makes him a shoo-in candidate.

But when faith, conscience and love of a troubled refugee ripple the smooth waters of his existence, can Mitch risk everything for love?

Magdalena Serida fought her way out of the terrors of a government-quelled insurgent uprising in Chechnya. The church-sponsored refugee knows the horrors of war first-hand.

Now in America with her five-year-old sister, Lena is uncertain who to trust. Her Christian faith has maintained her through the loss of her family, but when Mitch Sanderson shows interest, Lena longs to take a chance.

Should she open herself up to this man of law and order, a man who imprisons women like her? Or slip quietly back into the shadowed fringe of anonymity?

But choices slip away when Mitch’s friend spews half-truths about Lena, rumors that cost Mitch his new love and possibly the election. Can he find his way to a faith deep enough to love again, and to offer Lena the refuge of his heart?

 

MY THOUGHTS:

I have to confess . . . I didn’t want to read this book.

Okay, there. I confessed. Someone had posted that it was a tear-jerker and I let their opinion stop me. And I feel pretty stupid about it, because it was such a wonderful story, I feel terrible that I might have missed out on it—because I was afraid to read it.

Well, yeah, I grabbed for the tissues, but it’s so much bigger than that. This story MUST be read—and appreciated. Time and again I felt guilty for ever thinking about not reading it.

District Attorney Mitchell Sanderson is a man to respect and trust. Magdalena Serida will endure anything to make a new life for herself and her sister. As they are continually amazed at the others’ endurance, it makes them better individuals.

Mitch and Magdalena are characters I would really like to know. I’d love to know such people, so I could learn from their bravery . . . their faith . . . and their love.

Ruth Logan Herne is an amazing storyteller! She’s never failed to be entertaining, while creating characters so real, I’d like to invite them over for supper!

 

… don’t forget to click below to find out how you can enter the GIVEAWAY contest!

Ruth Logan Herne Marathon | Giveaway!

Happy Reading!!!
Blessings!

Review © 2016 DJ Mynatt

Tagged: , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Refuge Of the Heart | Ruth Logan Herne

  1. Mari June 20, 2016 at 11:12 am

    Awesome! Another great book to read by Ruth Logan Herne. Thank you for a nice review and encouraging to readers to read Refuge of the Heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    • DJ Mynatt June 20, 2016 at 2:53 pm

      It’s wonderful . . . really worth reading!

      Like

  2. fishingjan June 20, 2016 at 11:43 am

    Wow. This sounds lie a wonderful story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • DJ Mynatt June 20, 2016 at 2:53 pm

      It is . . . it really is!

      Like

  3. Trixi June 22, 2016 at 12:15 pm

    This is one I’ve heard a LOT of good things about! It’s on my want-to-read list already 🙂 I have a penchant for tear-jerker stories, even though I am not normally a crier. I have a love/hate relationship with tears….lol!

    Thanks for the lovely review Donna, so glad you decided to give it a chance & actually enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • DJ Mynatt June 28, 2016 at 1:33 pm

      Oh yeah, it was wonderful!

      Like

Comments are closed.

