Jean C. Gordon . . . Author Spotlight

 

Thank you for joining me for this Author Spotlight!

First, a bit about Jean…

jeannoglasses

Jean C. Gordon’s writing is a natural extension of her love of reading. From that day in first grade when she realized t-h-e was the word “the,” she’s been reading everything she can put her hands on. A professional financial planner, Jean is as at home writing retirement- and investment-planning advice as she is writing romance novels, but finds novels a lot more fun.

She and her college-sweetheart husband tried the city life in Los Angeles, but quickly returned home to their native Upstate New York. They share a 170-year-old farmhouse just south of Albany, NY, with their daughter and son-in-law, two grandchildren, and a menagerie of pets. Their son lives nearby. While Jean creates stories, her family grows organic fruits and vegetables and tends the livestock de jour.

Although her writing and family don’t leave her a lot of spare time, Jean likes to give back when she can. She and her husband team-taught a seventh-and-eighth-grade Sunday school class for several years and currently serve on her church’s Evangelism Committee. She also shares her love of books with others by volunteering at the church’s Book Nook.

You can keep in touch with her at JeanCGordon.com or find her on Facebook, Twitter, Amazon, and Goodreads.

 

An interview with Jean C. Gordon . . . today on Donna’s BookShelf – Tweet this!

 

And here is my interview with Jean:

  1. You have written several great series for Love Inspired . . . what inspired you to branch out with the Upstate NY series?

Actually, I wrote my Upstate books before I started writing for Love Inspired. Avalon Books originally published them in hardcover for libraries. Amazon Montlake later bought Avalon, and I received the rights back on my first three Avalon books, which I refreshed and updated and published under the Upstate NY imprint. Montlake still has the rights to and has republished my last two Avalon books, Mara’s Move and Candy Kisses. I like writing sweet romance as well as inspirational romance, so I’ll be launching a new sweet series (Team Macachek) in the fall to complement my Love Inspired books.

 

  1. Have you ever written under a pen name? Why or why not?

No, I haven’t. Jean C. Gordon is such a nice easy name to remember. FYI, the “C” is for Chelikowsky.

 

  1. I heard that you plan to attend a readers conference in Nashville this August . . . will you also be attending the ACFW conference during the same week?

Yes, I will be at the conference as well. I’m looking forward to both of them and to visiting Nashville for the first time. I’m bringing my husband along and staying a few extra days to sightsee. I hope to see at least some of you while I’m there.

 

  1. You live in an historic farmhouse in New York State. Can you tell us more about your choice to live with your daughter’s family? (I live with my daughter’s family, too)

The summer before our son started high school, our daughter and son-in-law were house hunting and not finding what they wanted—something with acreage to do some farming—in their price range. The semi-rural area where we were living at the time was quickly becoming suburban, and the high school had grown to a size that seemed large to my husband and me. We wanted our son to attend a smaller school. After a summer-long search, we finally found our house. We had a few bumps at first, such as quickly discovering that we couldn’t share a kitchen. My husband and I added a second kitchen to our side of the house. Once we got over the bumps, things have worked out pretty well, and I love having the multi-generations together. I think it’s good for all of us.

 

  1. Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

I have two things. If you want to succeed commercially, treat your writing as a business, not a hobby, and remember where your talents come from.

 

And now for a few favorites:

Favorite person – my husband, Mark

Favorite coffee –  anything mocha 

Favorite perfume – Lily of the Valley

Favorite hobbies (other than writing) – reading and playing Scrabble online with a few friends

Favorite book – it’s a toss-up between Francine Rivers’ Redeeming Grace, and Mary Jo Putney’s The Rake and the Reformer (original versions of each)

Favorite music – most recently, Country. It reminds me of the rock ballads of the 1970s. (Yes, I’m dating myself)


Thank you, Jean!

And THANK YOU, readers, for joining me for this AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT!

Blessings!

Interview © 2016 DJ Mynatt

Tagged: , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Jean C. Gordon . . . Author Spotlight

  1. Marilyn July 29, 2016 at 12:05 pm

    Thanks Jean for sharing more about your self on Donna’s Bookshelf. Donna, it’s been a fun month with your great reviews. God bless!

    Liked by 2 people

    • DJ Mynatt August 1, 2016 at 1:10 pm

      Thanks, Marilyn. Now I have the tough job… of telling readers I’m taking off the month of August!

      Like

  2. jeancg2008 July 29, 2016 at 4:21 pm

    Thank you, Marilyn, for following all month.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Trixi July 29, 2016 at 10:56 pm

    Jean what a fascinating author interview! I learned so much more about you through this.

    I would have to agree with you that my favorite book of all time is Francine Rivers “Redeeming Love”. God changed me in a big way reading it and broke some chains that had me bound. I am forever grateful to an author who allows God to guide their writing & never compromises their faith values in the stories they tell! You just never know what it will speak to each reader. 🙂

    Thanks for spending through of July with us, I enjoyed getting to know more about your books! Keep on writing the words God has you to, blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

