Unblemished | Sara Ella

 

Today I am reviewing Unblemished by Sara Ella.

Here is a brief synopsis:

Eliyana has always recoiled from her own reflection in the mirror. But what if that were only one Reflection—one world? What if another world existed where her blemish could become her strength?

Eliyana is used to the shadows. With a hideous birthmark covering half her face, she just hopes to graduate high school unscathed. That is, until Joshua hops a fence and changes her perspective. No one, aside from her mother, has ever treated her as normal. Maybe even beautiful.

Because of Joshua, Eliyana finally begins to believe she could be loved. But one night her mother doesn’t come home, and that’s when everything gets weird. Now Joshua is her new, and rather reluctant, legal Guardian. Add a hooded stalker and a Central Park battle to the mix and you’ve gone from weird to otherworldly.

Eliyana soon finds herself in a world much larger and more complicated than she’s ever known. A world enslaved by a powerful and vile man. And Eliyana holds the answer to defeating him. How can an ordinary girl, a blemished girl, become a savior when she can’t even save herself?

 

MY THOUGHTS:

I love the cover on this book . . . and I couldn’t wait to read it. Unblemished was described as an inspirational novel, and even as a Christian fiction novel, so I dove into it with high expectations.

Uh. . . no.

I can’t honestly recommend this book to my readers. I have nothing against fairy tales, which this story emulates, or kissing, which this story has plenty of… but I feel the story is far from Christian fiction (or inspirational). We all have our own idea of when the lines we set get crossed . . . and this story crossed too many lines for me.

But the hardest thing to swallow?

How can an ordinary girl, a blemished girl, become a savior when she can’t even save herself?

Yes, I admit, I am offended by a young girl who is obviously immature and sees herself as a savior. And I’m sorry, but I thought the writing wasn’t quite up to par. I expected much more. . .

That being said, if you read it, and enjoy it, that ‘s fine.

I’ll be back soon with another review; hopefully, one more positive than this one.

In the meantime, happy reading.

 

 

God bless you!

Review © 2017 DJ Mynatt

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

