Nadine Brandes – Author Spotlight

Thank you for joining me for this Author Spotlight!

First, a bit about Nadine.

My Bio

 
I learned to write my alphabet with a fountain pen. In Kindergarten. Maybe that’s what started my love for writing. It’s not every day a five-year-old learns the correct rules on dealing with ink splotches, how to hold her pen, or how to replace cartridges before she even understands 1+1=2.

I started journaling at age nine and thus began my habit of communicating via pen and paper more than spoken words. I never decided to become a writer. My brain simply classified it as a necessity to life, like bathing, eating, and sleeping.

Not many people took my writing seriously, so I kept it to myself a very long time. I didn’t share my books with anyone who didn’t seem supportive or bound to love them. Through my Junior year of college, God urged me to pursue a vision behind my writing. The moment I started the pursuit, He provided the vision. My writing has never been the same since and the stories behind how I got where I am are nothing short of miraculous. Yet, even with vision, it took me a long time to grow bold enough to share it with others.

In 2010, I moved to Missouri for graduate school. One autumn evening, a young man approached me at a small game night get-together and said, “I saw you have a blog. I’ve been reading it and… you’re an awesome writer!”

I married him.

Since then, he’s encouraged me practically every day to, “Go write, Honey.” He promoted my writing with unveiled enthusiasm, so I prayed on a little more backbone and forced out author confidence. Surprisingly enough (or is it?), people ended up being a lot more supportive and encouraging than I’d previously imagined them to be. My writing became public and God blessed it.

We now live in a mountainous valley on the border of two states where winter overtakes nine months of the year. Through God’s provision, I am a stay-at-home author, currently working on book two of my dystopian series. The first book, A Time to Die, is contracted with Enclave Publishing, the leading publisher of speculative fiction. (If speculative fiction sounds like a different language to you, read my blog post for a definition.)
 
Readers can learn more about Nadine at www.nadinebrandes.com or find her on Facebook, Twitter, Amazon, Pinterest, Google+ and Goodreads.
 
How would you live if you knew the day you’d die?Tweet this!

 
 

And here is my interview with Nadine:

Have you always wanted to write? Do you use an outline for your stories?

Yes! I’ve always wanted to write, but I didn’t think about it as a profession until I got into college. For some reason, prior to that, I’d always seen it as a hobby.

I use a mental outline. For me, once something’s on paper, it feels too permanent and it’s tough to change. So I rarely write out a detailed outline. But, generally, I know where the story needs to go.

How does it feel being a published author? Have you encountered any surprises along the way to being published?

I love it! Writing is my dream and it’s such a blessing to watch my book impact the lives of others. I was really surprised, when I first stepped into the publishing world, at the author community there is. Once I stepped “inside” I met all sorts of authors and they really helped me tackle the process of becoming a published author. I didn’t expect that, but it was a surprise and blessing!

Do you have a folder or a file where you keep future ideas for stories or do you just come up with ideas after a suggestion from your editor, agent, or friends?

I have a whiteboard. That’s not the most fire-proof or accident-proof place to keep my story ideas, but I jot down the title or the “What if” question and whenever I look at it, I know exactly what story would come from that idea.
I don’t think I’ve ever gotten idea from someone else.

How do you find time for everything…writing, family, church, friends, etc.

Confession: I’m still working on time management! [grin] Aside from the things listed above, I also do freelance editing for work. I treat writing and editing like a full-time job and work 9-5 every day, alternating editing and writing days. I’m still able to interact with family, friends, and my church on a fairly normal basis. Then again, my husband and I don’t have kids yet. So I’m sure things will change drastically when that day comes!

Have you attended any writer retreats, conferences, and the like? Do you think they are necessary for your writing?

YES! Big giant neon YES. My top piece of advice I give to aspiring authors is to attend a writing conference. The relationships and classes you take there will completely transform your writing!

How often do you travel? Where do you go? Who do you travel with? What is your favorite vacation spot?

I travel a lot! Hubby and I are fans of road trips, which is a good thing because we road trip to Missouri about three times a year to see his family (a 20-hour trip.) This year (2015), we have a lot of international trips coming up that are ministry related, so we’ll be going to Russia in only a couple weeks! My favorite vacation spot is probably anywhere international. I love discovering new cultures and countries.

What are you working on now? Is there another genre you are interested in writing?

I’m currently working on books 2 and 3 in my dystopian Out of Time series. Book two was just sent in to my publisher for editing while book three is still being written.

Thank you, Donna!
 

Thank You, Nadine… and God bless you!

 

And THANK YOU for joining me for this AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT!

Don’t forget to check back or follow my blog to see new reviews —  February will be dedicated to another of my favorite authors!

 

 

One Year. One Chance. One dangerous idea. Can Parvin survive her last year?Tweet this!

Watch for book 2 in Nadine’s Out Of Time series!Tweet this!

 

Today is the final day to enter Nadine’s GIVEAWAY contest!

Nadine Brandes Marathon | Giveaway!

 

God bless you!

 

Copyright © 2013-2015 donnasbookshelf.

Tagged: , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Nadine Brandes – Author Spotlight

  1. Melanie Backus January 24, 2015 at 9:40 am

    Nadine sounds like a wonderful person and dedicated writer. Thank you for a great interview!

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nadine Brandes January 24, 2015 at 6:06 pm

      Thank you for the compliments and for reading the interview, Melanie! 🙂

      Like

  2. Deanna S January 24, 2015 at 12:52 pm

    It was nice to meet you Nadine.. I loved how you met your husband & how supportive he is.. he’s a treasure! ! The link to the Marathon isn’t working so I hope I’m entering in the comments… wishing you much success!
    dkstevensneAToutlookDOtCoM

    Liked by 1 person

    • DJ Mynatt January 24, 2015 at 4:07 pm

      You’re entered, Deanna… and the winner will be announced tomorrow morning.

      Like

    • Nadine Brandes January 24, 2015 at 6:07 pm

      He certainly is a treasure! 😀 Nice to meet you, too Deanna.

      Like

  3. Deanne Patterson (@cnnamongirl) January 24, 2015 at 2:52 pm

    Nadine I like your thinking. I don’t blame you for not wanting to share your writing with anyone whom you didn’t think took your writing seriously. Love how you met your husband. After that encouragement, he’s definately a keeper ! I wish you much success in your continued writing. I am entering the cotest here since the link to enter is broken.
    Deanne Cnnamongirl(at)aol(dot)com

    Liked by 1 person

    • DJ Mynatt January 24, 2015 at 4:08 pm

      You’re entered!

      Like

    • Nadine Brandes January 24, 2015 at 6:08 pm

      Yes he is! And God knew what type of support I needed in a man. Thank you for the well-wishes. I’d love to know what you think of A Time to Die if you read it! 🙂

      Like

  4. conniepsaunders January 24, 2015 at 3:28 pm

    Certainly food for thought. One year or one day…what would I choose to do? Thanks!
    Connie

    Liked by 1 person

    • conniepsaunders January 24, 2015 at 3:30 pm

      I also had trouble linking to the contest!
      Connie
      cps1950 at gmail dot com

      Liked by 1 person

      • DJ Mynatt January 24, 2015 at 4:11 pm

        I’m working on the link…

        Like

    • DJ Mynatt January 24, 2015 at 4:11 pm

      That’s a difficult decision. My choice? Honestly, some days I’d be tempted to choose one day… but I’d choose a year – and that would be my best year!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Nadine Brandes January 24, 2015 at 6:08 pm

      It’s certainly a question that’s changed how I’ve lived. 🙂

      Like

  5. DJ Mynatt January 24, 2015 at 4:24 pm

    The link is fixed! I had a dash where an underscore was needed (the first one I’ve ever used with an underscore)… but now it works!

    Like

Comments are closed.